ForUS small businesses, from solo owners to 500 people, that take card payments, pay by bank or send moneyUS (California noted)
Fraud in 2026 for US small businesses: who pays, what proof to keep, and what fraud tools cost.
In our reading of the rules below, the business bears the loss unless an exception applies. The main exceptions: the card issuer pays when a chip card was read by chip or an online order passed 3-D Secure; a bank pays for a wire if it did not follow the agreed security procedure; and a bank can pay for a forged check if you report it in time. A business card can also cap your loss at $50 (Reg Z), under conditions we did not fully confirm. For a payment you send after being tricked, we found no rule that makes someone else pay; the main option is a fast bank recall.
Read each row with its last column. Primary means we read the law or the provider’s own page; secondary means someone’s summary of it.
| Case | Who usually pays | Time limit | Recovery chance | What we read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stolen card, chip or tap, in person | Card issuer | Network dispute window; rule text not read | High for the merchant | Unconfirmed: the chip liability shift is known history; network rules: Visa rules, Mastercard rules |
| Same card swiped or keyed though it had a chip | Merchant | Same | Low | Unconfirmed: network rules: Visa rules, Mastercard rules |
| Online order disputed as fraud, no 3-D Secure | Merchant | Response windows are short; we did not confirm Shopify’s window from a Shopify source (secondary reports 7 to 21 days) | Low to moderate for true third-party fraud | Stripe support note; network rules: Visa rules, Mastercard rules |
| Online order with completed 3-D Secure | Card issuer, for fraud codes only | Authentication must have completed, not fallen back | High for fraud codes; none for “not received” or “not as described” | Stripe Support (primary for Stripe); processor guide |
| Buyer disputes a real sale (friendly fraud) | Merchant, unless it rebuts | Visa Compelling Evidence 3.0: two earlier undisputed sales on the same card, 120 to 365 days old, with matching IP or device ID plus one more element | Moderate to high if the data was saved at checkout; near zero if not | Secondary: vendor summaries; Visa rule text not read. Mastercard has a similar First-Party Trust program (Mastercard releases, primary) |
| Unauthorized ACH debit on a business account | You, unless it is returned in time | 2 banking days after settlement for the return; your bank may ask for notice sooner (one bank guide says 24 hours) | High inside the window; low after | Secondary: EPCOR, Modern Treasury and a Nacha-exam guide |
| Payment you sent after being tricked (fake invoice, changed bank details) | You | Recall only, as fast as possible | Unclear; the FBI froze 58% of money it chased in 2025, but the figure may not apply to small-business payments | FBI IC3 2025 report (primary). Time-window freeze rates seen online are not in that report |
| Wire after an account takeover | You if the bank followed an agreed, commercially reasonable security procedure; otherwise the bank must refund | Report within a reasonable time, at most 90 days, to keep interest; one-year outer limit | Depends on the contract and the bank’s procedure | California Commercial Code §§11202, 11204 and 11505 text; Zengen v. Comerica (2007). Primary. The §11505 link is not saved in Sources yet |
| Forged, altered or washed check on your account | The bank, unless you were careless or slow to review statements | One-year outer limit; account agreements often shorten review periods | Moderate to high if reported fast and you use positive pay | UCC 3-406 and 4-406 text from three state codes (Michigan, Massachusetts, Kansas; primary); California text not read. The model text may add a shorter rule for repeat forgeries; not confirmed |
| Counterfeit check you deposited | You; the bank can charge it back | — | Very low | Unconfirmed: not read |
| Business credit card used without authorization | Card issuer, up to $50, unless the issuer gave you 10 or more cards and the agreement says otherwise | Not confirmed: we did not read a notice deadline; the $50 cap also depends on conditions the issuer must meet (rule text not read) | High for firms with fewer than 10 cards | 12 CFR 1026.12 and the CFPB interpretation (primary) |
| Payment-app or processor account takeover | You, as a rule | Report at once; payouts may freeze | Low to moderate | Unconfirmed: provider terms not read |
| Employee theft | You, unless insured | Policy notice deadlines | Depends on cover; social-engineering cover is usually a sublimit | Broker pages only; no policy wording reviewed |
Personal accounts only
60 days vs 2 banking days (Nacha rules as read in 2026; our reading)
$50 cap, with a catch (Reg Z text as read in 2026; our reading)
| Provider | Dispute fee per chargeback | Read |
|---|---|---|
| Stripe (US) | $15 when received, plus $15 when you counter, refunded if you win (stripe.com/pricing, primary) | Stripe pricing page, Oct 2026 |
| Shopify Payments (US) | Not stated on Shopify’s Shopify chargebacks page, which links its fee page; secondary guides say $15, returned if you win | Third-party guides |
| PayPal (card chargeback) | $20.00 | PayPal fee page, primary |
| PayPal Braintree | $15 | PayPal fee page, primary |
| Square (US) | $0: “There are no fees for dispute management services for chargebacks” | Square Help, primary. Square’s old paid chargeback protection ended in 2019 (history). |
Built from the official guides and rules we could read. The tiers are our grouping.
Every dispute
Wins most fraud-coded disputes
Helps, rarely decisive alone
No one else carries it
Listed by category, not ranked. No provider paid to be here and we have no affiliate ties. “Quote only” means no price is published; we have not guessed one. Read 25 Oct 2026.
| Provider | Price model | Price | What it covers | Worth it or skip | What we read |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe Radar Lite | Included with standard card pricing | $0 | None; screening only | Always on. Radar Standard moves to a per-transaction fee from 22 Jan 2027 | Stripe notice and pricing page (primary) |
| Stripe Radar Standard | Per screened transaction | From $0.05 per screened transaction or from $10 a month (stripe.com/radar/pricing, primary; the page lists “starting at $10 per month” and does not show the per-transaction price or the 22 Jan 2027 date) | None | Worth it if card testing or fraud is real; skip at low fraud and low volume | Stripe support pages say the fee starts 22 Jan 2027 but give no amount; the figure comes from a copy of Stripe’s email (secondary) |
| Shopify Protect | Free for eligible orders; requires Shopify Payments and Shop Pay, and the order must show protection active | $0 | Covers the order amount and chargeback fee on eligible fraud chargebacks | Always on if you qualify (US stores, tracking within 7 days, approved carrier); fraud chargebacks only | Shopify page (primary); detailed terms not read |
| PayPal Chargeback Protection | Per transaction | 0.40%; Effortless tier 0.60% | Unauthorized and item-not-received chargebacks, up to a monthly loss cap; the cap amount is not published | Worth it if those losses exceed the fee; skip if your losses are “not as described” or friendly fraud. Enrolling turns off PayPal’s Fraud Protection tool | PayPal fee and help pages (primary) |
| Square | Built in | $0 dispute fee | No paid chargeback protection. Square covers Cash App Pay fraud disputes in full; processing fees are not refunded on a lost dispute (Square Help) | Low dispute cost; you still lose the amount on a lost dispute | Square Help (primary) |
| Signifyd | Share of approved order value | Quote only | Financial guarantee up to a full liability shift | For larger online sellers; likely above small-shop scale | Signifyd pricing page (primary) |
| ClearSale | Per approved order, or a fixed fee | Quote only; a pricing page says from $0.25 per approved order (unconfirmed) | Optional guarantee on fraud chargebacks; conditions not stated | Worth a quote for small online sellers who want a guarantee | ClearSale page (primary, prices unconfirmed) |
| NoFraud | Monthly tiers by volume | Quote only; a Shopify listing says $250 a month or 1% of revenue | “100% financial guarantee” on passed orders; limits not stated | High-fraud online verticals; costly at 1% to 1.5% of revenue if fraud is low | Shopify listing (vendor) and NoFraud policy |
| Riskified | Share of approved orders | Quote only | Covers fraud chargebacks on approved orders | Usually above small-shop scale | Riskified page (primary) |
| Sift | Volume contract | Quote only | None | Usually above small-shop scale | Sift terms (primary) |
| Chargeflow | Success fee | 25% of recovered chargebacks; other plans’ prices conflict across its pages | Recovers disputes; does not prevent them | If you lack time to respond to winnable disputes | Chargeflow pages (primary but inconsistent) |
Opinion, not measurement. The samples are small, run by the vendors’ review pages, and lean toward larger merchants. We rank no provider from this. Read 25 Oct 2026.
| Provider | Where we read | Praise | Complaints |
|---|---|---|---|
| Signifyd | G2 (347 reviews, 4.6); Capterra (64, 4.7; visible reviews 2017 to Jun 2024) | Guarantee shifts the risk; less manual review | False declines; claim exclusions; opaque decisions |
| Riskified | G2 (240 reviews, 4.4); 10 read, Oct 2025 to Sep 2026 | Fewer manual reviews; setup | False declines; commission on thin margins |
| NoFraud | G2 (269 reviews, 4.7, no text); Capterra (1 review, 2020) | Not enough text read | Not enough text read |
| Sift | G2 (617 reviews, 4.6, no text) | Not enough text read | Not enough text read |
| ClearSale | Trustpilot (183 reviews, 2.8; unverified, some look invited); one page read | Not enough read | Denied reimbursements; orders refused with no appeal |
| Stripe (whole platform, not Radar) | Capterra (3,390 reviews, 4.6) | Not Radar-specific | False declines; fund holds with little warning; slow support |
Risk moves off you
The fine print and the false decline
PayPal, Square, Chargeflow, bank controls
Review counts are what the sites show, not what we verified; where a site gave a count but no text we say so. Next step if you want more: an export of CFPB complaints and the Shopify App Store reviews.
Positive pay and ACH blocks are the cheapest high-value controls. Fees come from each bank’s published schedule.
| Bank | ACH debit block or filter | Check positive pay | Schedule date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chase (business) | $0 a month | $0 a month per account | 14 Jun 2026 |
| Beneficial State Bank (California) | $20 a month per account (block and filter) | $20 a month per account | 1 Apr 2026 |
| Western Alliance | Listed; fee not captured | $25 a month per account | 2 Feb 2026 |
| Banner Bank | Not listed | $35 first account, $20 each more | 2026 |
| Cambridge Savings Bank | $10 a month (ACH block) | In a $50 checking tier | 20 Jul 2026 |
| SSFCU (credit union) | Not listed | $15 a month plus $15 setup | 14 Oct 2026 |
| ConnectOne Bank | Not listed | $25 per account; required unless you sign an opt-out | 2026 |
| Amalgamated Bank | Not listed | $45 a month; ACH positive pay $60; bundle $75 | 30 Apr 2025 |
Against $123,005, the average business email compromise loss per FBI complaint in 2025, even the $75 bundle is small. ConnectOne requires positive pay unless the customer opts out in writing; we draw no conclusion from that. The Fraud Costs post’s calculator uses $25, $45 and $80 a month from two credit unions’ schedules; this table covers eight banks. The samples differ and are not combined. Multi-factor sign-in and email-security costs were not researched.
Cheap and high value
Test against your own numbers
Above scale or off target
Open, not answered.
Where a rule above comes from a provider's terms, The Small Print quotes and rates it.
We make the hidden visible, the complex simple and the unheard heard.
The research, views and analysis are our own.
Spotted an error, or represent a company named here? Write to hello@foregaze.ai . We fix errors, date each change and publish company responses.
We're not lawyers, accountants or financial advisers. This covers published prices and terms as read on the dates shown under Sources.
Read on the dates shown under Sources. Prices and terms change and vary by plan, region and contract, and custom-priced accounts can differ. Check the provider's own page before you sign or switch.
Complaints and forum reports are what businesses say, unverified unless marked. Nothing here says a company broke the law.
Written by ForeGaze Research. Claude (made by Anthropic) helped with drafting, layout and website design. Every number is checked against the sources listed and manually checked. ForeGaze is responsible for the content.
Company and product names are trademarks of their owners. Short quotes are used for commentary.
Every ForeGaze post sits in one or more series. See them all on the Post Map.
Your ACH return window and your wire security procedure decide who pays. Get both in writing, then turn on a debit block and positive pay.
See the seven stepsRules and fees change; check with your bank and processor before you act. Provider names are trademarks of their owners. This is general research, not legal advice. See Disclaimers above.